April Krowel, B.A.adkrowel@bsu.edu

I am a second-year MA student, in the Clinical Mental Health track. I am planning on applying for early admission to the doctoral program this November. I am currently interning at IU Health Ball Memorial Hospital, in inpatient psychiatry. My future aspirations include working in a Veterans Administration hospital, writing books, student veteran outreach, and possibly teaching. I am currently working on my thesis, which will (hopefully!) address the large gap in the literature regarding how active-duty veterans and female veterans transition to college.

Professional Positions
Graduate Assistant, Educational Leadership
Treasurer, BSU Graduate Student Association
Student Representative, ACA Professional Standards Committee
Campus Representative, Advocacy Coordinating Team (ACT), American Psychological Association of Graduate Students (APAGS)

Theoretical Approach
My theoretical approach is a combination of Cognitive-Behavioral, Reality, and Solution-Focused Therapies. In my opinion, these work well together because they are relatively similar. My preference is more Reality Therapy; however, insurance isn't a fan so I am more Cognitive-Behavioral.

Research Interests
Veterans' Issues (PTSD, TBI, reintegration, substance abuse, grief, transitioning to college)
Trauma and resiliency
Power and privilege

I am originally from Lebanon, IN. I joined the Army right after high school and found myself at Fort Campbell, KY, where I met my husband, Justin. We were married after knowing each other for nine weeks! We were deployed to Iraq 2 weeks after our wedding (nice honeymoon, right?). I lived in Southern California for 6 1/2 years and loved it! We have one daughter, Abbi, who is 15 months old. We have 3 large dogs: Yoko, Kisses, and Marilyn. I have been married for 8 1/2 years.


Color: Green
Animal: Shark
TV Show: Criminal Minds
Foods: Thai, Sushi, Mexican, Italian

Random Info
If I could live in another country, I would live in Germany.
Someday, I will go on an African Safari.
I am one of the biggest football fans you will ever encounter.
My husband and I are amateur chefs.
I can parallel park.
When I was eight, I wanted to be a lawyer and own a Dodge Viper.
I have 3 brothers and 3 sisters, but I am the only child.
I listen to my iPod when I grocery shop.
I have 12 nieces and nephews.
If I could play any position on a football team, it would be safety (assuming I had the natural ability).
I got married when I was 18.
My favorite movie is Private Benjamin.
If my older brother were a girl, he would have my name.